Coity Higher Community Council


The Community Council consists of 11 Members who are elected every five years, and represent three wards within the Bridgend area. They are Coity, Litchard and Pendre.

The Community Council employs two part-time staff; a Clerk/Responsible Financial Officer, and an Assistant Clerk.

The Council meets every second Thursday of the month at 7.00 pm at Coity Higher Community Centre, Heol West Plas, with the exception of the month of August.

The Community Council are the closest level of government to the people of a community. The Community Council will work to represent and improve the area in which it serves. The Community Council is granted its power by parliament, it raises its money through taxation (precept) and has the power to dictate how it spends the money.

Some of the Works Carried out by Coity Higher

Allotments – located off Heol West Plas, Coity

Daffodils – these are purchased and planted each year by Community Council Members.

Financial Donations – we have limited funds to allocate to charities and local groups. Application is via letter to the Clerk.

Footpaths – we maintain and clear all footpaths within the Coity, Litchard and Pendre areas.

Grit Bins – these are supplied on request, provided the requirement and expenditure is agreed by the Community Council and that BCBC agree to maintain and refill them.

Hanging Baskets – these are supplied, maintained and paid for by the Community Council each year.

Litter Bins – these are supplied on request, provided the requirement and expenditure is agreed by Community Council Members and that BCBC agree to maintain and empty them.

Notice Boards – we have 4 noticeboards – one outside Litchard Primary School on Garfield Avenue, one next to the Post Box near Pendre Post Office and one on the front of the Six Bells Inn, Coity. There is also one outside of the new Coety school in Parc Derwen.

Play Areas – we maintain the play area next to Litchard Primary School.

War Memorial – we maintain the War Memorial located outside St Mary’s Church Coity.


Coity Ward

Alison Hughes 07903444150 Independent

Martin Williams 01656 767993 /07583165098 Independent – Vice Chair of Council

Litchard Ward

Ceri Evans 07925349478 Independent

Cherie Jones 01656 651487/07874241810 Labour

Luke Richards 07710677695 Independent

Christopher Walburn 01656 646948 Labour

Alan Wathan 01656 719088 Independent – Chair of Council

Pendre Ward

Dean Barrington 07477623326 Independent

Anita Davies 01656 658827 Liberal Democrat

Alun Dodd 01656 662829 Labour

Richard Young 01656 669527 Labour


Ann Harris (Clerk) PO Box 357, Bridgend CF31 9NT 07944673642

Phil Ley (Asst. Clerk)